While I was in Hawaii on my honeymoon (gorgeous place, as I’m sure you all have heard) the 50th anniversary of Hawaii’s statehood occurred. There were some celebrations, and quite a bit of news and history about the state, and how it got to be so.

While I definitely agree that Hawaii was wronged in several ways along the way to becoming a state, as many people point out, it’s hard to figure out how to rectify those wrongs in this day and age. That, however is not my main point. One thing I remember clearly was a PBS special that hashed over all of the issues, and quite a few of the commentators on the show agreed that all of the “native Hawaiians” deserved a vote about Hawaii’s future. From the way they discussed the issue, it was clear that they meant Native Hawaiians of Hawaiian Polynesian descent.

To those commentators, and any people of a similar opinion, I have some questions: Why do you think that only people who have ancestors who were the original Polynesian settlers are the ones who deserve the vote? Why not any person born and raised in Hawaii? Would you grant your votes even to someone with Hawaiian Polynesian ancestors who wasn’t entirely born and raised in the state?

Do you see the inherent racism of your views? You’re giving preferential treatment to a group of people based purely on the genetics of who their parents are. If that’s not racist, I don’t know what is.